Saturday, March 17, 2012

Fashion addict? Can you do 15 clothes for a month?

30 day challenge. You just need to chose 15 clothes from your wardrobe and you have to wear them for 30 days. Sounds fun. =)
Cue the 15/30: The Capsule Wardrobe Project (March 15 – April 15, 2012). Fifteen pieces in thirty days. No shopping to expand your wardrobe at all for an entire month. None at all. If you’re constantly panicking about not having anything to wear, you might have too much not-so-great stuff. Remember, quality vs. quantity. I, along with other bloggers including StyleNomad, want to welcome you all to take on this wardrobe challenge and truly see for ourselves how much we think we need to fill this “void” of not having enough. The aim of this project is to get people to become more aware of their shopping habits and hopefully gain a better perspective on sustainable fashion.  So, get creative, have some fun, start pinning outfit and styling inspirations! Make a daily look book to document this challenge. Edit down your closet while you’re at it. We have a few wear it ‘x’ number of ways posts on EIU if you need help getting started. Besides, it’s been said we really only wear 80% of our wardrobe.  
Rules:  
- ANY 15 pieces from your wardrobe for 30 days (example: 10 tops, 5 bottoms or 5 dresses, 5 tops, 3 bottoms, 2 jackets)  
- Accessories (incl. hats, scarves) /gym clothes/pajamas/socks are not included in the 15 pieces  
- No shopping for 1 month  
- DIY on the existing 15 pieces is permitted  For more information on the 15/30 Project, visit T Like Bubble Tea and Redress.  For more information on developing a sustainable wardrobe, read Lucy Siegle’s book, To Die For, and her articles in The Guardian UK. 
You can refer to chictopia for more info. As for me, I’ll try this one once I started a job so that I really need to get out of the house everyday because for now, I’m a bummer haha XD

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Dancing Fountains

I decided to make this blog to help those in search for a private pool like I were before we found the private pool we stayed last Sunday.

March 11, 2012, Me and my block mates went to Villa Bong Pansol, Laguna for our first summer getaway this 2012. This was sort of a reunion/celebration since we just passed the Nursing Licensure Examination. One of our block mates who made it to the Top 10 paid for the private pool.

For those looking for a private pool at Pansol, Laguna, you might wanna check out Santos Eiramyoj on Facebook. Villa Bong was the one we picked and it was just for P4,000 for a stay from 7 am to 5 pm. We were 24 all in all. By the way, I suggest you text the owner rather than comment or message her on Facebook, you'll have a better deal. =) 

It has a total of 3 AC rooms with showers/comfort rooms , billiards, karaoke (We loved the karaoke because it had the latest songs) , kitchen area, free usage of stove, refrigerator (it was a bit old but fair enough) , and most importantly, the pool with fountains on the side! This is the reason why we picked it, it looked good on the pictures =)

You can turn off the fountain if you don't want it. Why am I saying this? Because this is a hot spring, meaning, the water is warm. ^^  We were shocked at first because we did not expect the water to be warm but we got used to it. At first, it feels like your skin will burn, but after a minute or two, you'll get used to it and feel really good. I think it has a soothing effect,warm water opens your pores and dilates your blood vessels for a better blood circulation. Ok, enough of the nursing lectures. haha. We think the pool is best for an overnight swim. Nonetheless, we super enjoyed it.

 We even did some pool activities like this one, I have a Video of our fun pool activity here. As you can notice, we've turned off the fountain. The place is really big, it also has a kiddie pool on the side but it's not that small so we stayed there as well and had some small chitchats. 
I think from now on, I'll go with hot spring resorts. Why? Because I've noticed that every time I dived in and enjoyed myself on regular swimming pools, at the end of the day or the next day, my whole body aches. But this time, I didn't feel a thing, maybe it's because of the soothing effect of the hot spring water that relaxes your muscles. =) BTW. Kuya, the caretaker was really nice and accommodating, he lend us a knife when we needed it. He runs a Sari sari store just in front of the villa where you can buy basic commodities. He also supplied us with water (P50) and ice (P25 per bag). 

Itinerary:
From Manila, we rode a bus going to Sta. Cruz, Laguna at DLTB Bus station in Buendia. It is just across the Gul Puyat LRT station. Bus departure is every 30minutes and I think they have their first bus as early as 4am. For just P86, it is a one hour ride and you can alight at Wonder Springs Resort (landmark). From there, you just walk straight ahead. You can ask the locals there for direction, they are really helpful. ^^ 

Going home, you can go back to the main road and ride a bus going to Alabang or Lawton. Since we were 24, we can't find a bus that would accommodate all of us. So we rode a jeepney going to Crossing (P10) where the Sta. Rosa Bus terminal is. It was for P75. It took more than 2 hours for the bus ride going home. I'm not sure if it was the bus taking a lot of stop overs or was it the route it took. 

Nonetheless, our outing was a complete success! Since our friend paid the pool, each of us just paid more or less P200 for the travel. For the food, all brought their own snacks and packed lunch. =)

I hope you'll find this blog helpful, enjoy your summer everyone! =)